The Anatomy of a Housefly

I have to admit, that with all the sight seeing I’ve been doing recetly (as seen in my recent posts), I missed macro photography. And earlier this week, I had the chance to go back to it haha.

dsc_8575

1/250s, ISO 1000

The fly that’s been harassing us for more than a week was finally dead. Now that’s a golden opportunity for a macro photographer!

I took countless photos of bees, ladybugs and even a grasshopper and a mantis. But never a fly. And that’sΒ because it’s pretty much impossible to take macro shots of a fly. You have to get very close to your object in order to take macro shots (atleast if you’re using a reverse lens and/or extension tubes) –Β veryΒ close, 2-3 cm. And d fly would take off before that. So, I ended up taking pictures of a fly’s corpse. Haha.

An inverted NIKKOR 28mm f/2.8 lens and extension tubes (12+20+36mm) were used for these shots, along with SB-700 speedlight (and a table lamp as additional lighting). Apertures used were between f/5.6 and f/8 I think.

dsc_8586

1/250s, ISO 1000

dsc_8564

1/250s, ISO 1000

High quality images will be avaliable soon on my flickr account πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

