Tales of the beach

There are many ways to the beach in Tel Aviv, and by far, the best one goes through the Carmel Market.

Back in highschool, when me and my friends headed to the beach, I don’t think there was a time we didn’t go through the market. We’d start by getting some new band shirts in our favorite stall in the market (it’s gone by now, but there’s another one now, I think) – getting band shirts was a must, and I think that any metalhead would relate! After shopping for some clothes (Jack Daniel’s shirt, some cheap jewelry and in my case, nail polish, and tons of it – each trip ended with atleast 10 new bottles haha) we continued to the end of the market – where mostly food is being sold.

After getting some fresh fruit – pineapples, peaches, mangos, cherries, grapes, watermelons and what not, we got ourselves some cold beers and headed to the beach.

More about why I love the Carmel Market so much can be found here 🙂

Anyway, when I reached the beach it was still too bright for long exposure shots so I experimented with panorama shots using my old (and soon to be replaced) tripod. Panorama is new to me so here are my first attempt at it:

untitled_panorama2

Nikon D7100, NIKKOR 18-105mm, 1/160s, f/14, ISO 320 @45mm

The panorama was composed of 13 photos with identical settings. Post-processing was rather difficult; The waves, obviously, moved from photo to photo creating an uneven panorama. Luckily my photoshop skills came in handy here 🙂

When I came down to the beach I screwed on my CPL filter and took a few shots before I continued to the wave breaker. Since the last time I’ve been there, they took off the fence so climbing it was rather easy this time. With the CPL filter mounted I took a few more shots before recieving a “be careful over there, you know you’re clumsy” text from my boyfriend. And a momnet after recieving that text, the CPL filter, along with the lens cap fell in between the rocks, straight into the water. Retrieving it wasn’t even possible – the rocks were far too big..

dsc_7009

Nikon D7100, NIKKOR 18-105mm with CPL filter, 1/100s, f/7.1, ISO 640 @105mm

dsc_7011

Nikon D7100, NIKKOR 18-105mm with CPL filter, 1/100s, f/7.1, ISO 640 @30mm

dsc_7015

Nikon D7100, NIKKOR 18-105mm with CPL filter, 1/100s, f/7.1, ISO 640 @105mm

dsc_7024

Nikon D7100, NIKKOR 18-105mm with CPL filter, 1/100s, f/5.6, ISO 1600 @105mm

dsc_7029

I was really tempted to jump in the water and swim! Nikon D7100, NIKKOR 18-105mm with CPL filter, 1/100s, f/5.6, ISO 1600 @105mm

dsc_7038

The rocks who took my filter away. (And 3 nice guys who tried to help me find it, unsuccesfully). Nikon D7100, NIKKOR 18-105mm with CPL filter, 1/80s, f/5.6, ISO 1600 @105mm

Devistated because of the loss (the filter was a gift and the lens cap.. well it’s pretty damn essential) I continued to climb the wave breaker (this time much, much more cautious). I found a stable spot for my tripod and used the ND filter for the following shots:

dsc_7048

Nikon D7100, NIKKOR 18-105mm with ND32 filter, 14s, f/13, ISO 100 @18mm

dsc_7052

Nikon D7100, NIKKOR 18-105mm with ND32 filter, 72s, f/13, ISO 100 @18mm

dsc_7057

Nikon D7100, NIKKOR 18-105mm with ND32 filter, 73s, f/6.3, ISO 100 @18mm

This time, I worked with a remote control, which allowed me longer exposure time (more than a minute) and made it way easier.

It got dark super fast so I didn’t have that much time on the wavebreaker. Getting off it in the dark was a bit.. frightening, but I managed to do that eventually. I headed home tired, still sad about the lost filter but overall satisfied from this photo journey. 🙂

Today, I finished my service in the IDF, and my friends and colleagues surprised me with a new (and even better) CPL filter and a lens cap. I doubt that any of them read here, but I gotta say thank you!!! This totally made my day.

Best release gift ever! Love my friends! #photography #photo #imfree #nikon #hoya #cplfilter

A post shared by zer0distance (@zer0distance) on

 High quality images will be avaliable soon on my flickr account.

Feel free to comment and share this post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

