Experimenting with a coupler ring

As I often mention I’m a huge fan of macro photography. And many macro photographers, me among them, always seek a way to get closer and closer to the object in front of the lens.

 

Recently, wandering around the internet had lead me to a new discovery; a coupler ring. Here, you mount a lens on your camera, and then, you mount another lens on top of the one you already have, upside down. Itย definitely caught my attention and a short search on eBay found a coupler ring (52-52mm).(I shop on eBay quite often. Over the time I stubmled upon some nice finds, and I’ll write about them when I get the chance).

DSC_0676

The coupler ring is just a simple metal ring.

DSC_0675

The set up: 20+36mm extension tubes, NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8, coupler ring, NIKKOR 28mm f/2.8.

DSC_5916

The lenses used. Love the reflections on them.

Because the 50mm lens was mounted, autofocus did work, but not quite well, so I switched to manual focus. And well, that was.. Difficult. I usedย as many light as I could; the built in flash (the speedlight was just too much), my phone’s flashlight, my desk lamp… But lack of light wasn’t the only problem. Depth of field was extremely shallow!

DSC_5995

Nikon D7100, 1/250s, f/13, ISO 100. f/2.8 was used on the 28mm lens.

The picture above is of guarlain’s meteorite shimmer (link of a picture, just for demonstration). The depth of field is super shallow, that only a thin stripe is in focus and the rest is completely blurred. The edges are dark, and the smaller the aperture was on the 28mm lens the worse it got.

DSC_5993

Nikon D7100, 1/250s, f/13, ISO 100. f/2.8 was used on the 28mm lens.

Again, the image above is of the same shimmer ball. Looks kinda like the land on the moon haha. The shallow depth of field can create a nice effect, and I love the bokeh here.

DSC_5965

Nikon D7100, 1/60s, f/6.3, ISO 1600. f/2.8 was used on the 28mm lens.

DSC_5958

Nikon D7100, 1/60s, f/2.8, ISO 1600.Don’t remember which f/ I used on the 28mm lens.

The coin above is of an Israeli Shekel. It’s only 18mm in diameter, so that’s how close you get. Again, a very shallow depth of field.

DSC_6005

Nikon D7100, 1/60s, f/2.8, ISO 560.

DSC_6008

Nikon D7100, 1/60s, f/2.8, ISO 1600.

The aperature I used for the 28mm lens for the upper image was rather high, I think either f/2.8 or f/4. For the lower image I used f/8 or even f/11. The depth of field did not change much, and honestly I think the upper photo is much better. The bokeh creates a nice effect, and you don’t have those ugly black corners (which makes it look like it was taken with a fisheye lens).

DSC_6014

Nikon D7100, 1/60s, f/2.8, ISO 1600.

DSC_6015

Nikon D7100, 1/60s, f/2.8, ISO 1600.

The photos above are of my mother’s eye. She’s used to me experimenting with macro, and it’s not the first time I take shots of her eyes (or anyone’s heh). Focusing was quite difficult, and it’s not that much closer from what I got using only a 28mm lens.

So, conclusions?? I’m pretty sure I’m missing something here, and I need to use a different set up. I’ll experiment more and see what comes out. I’ll keep you updated! ๐Ÿ™‚

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

