Along came a.. Snail

The title was not “Along came a Spider” as you would expect because I’m terrified to death by spiders (the sight of even a tiny spider would send me running out of the room, screaming like a little girl lol).

DSC_6526.jpg

1/60s, ISO 1250, Manual Mode

But this is not the case with snails. I’m actually pretty cool with them, I even had some as pets back when I was 6 (always was and always will be weird, haha).

DSC_6507

1/60s, ISO 1250, Manual Mode

Last winter my mother found a few of them in our yard and I had the chance to take some close photos of them (I was late for work, but it was totally worth it!)

The lens I used was an inverted NIKKOR  50mm f/1.8, therefore some of the exif data is missing. Used apperatures were f/1.8-f/8. (I should really start writing this down). ISO is very high in all photos, due to lack of light. The photos were taken in my yard, on a very cloudy day, so there wasn’t much light to begin with.

Just like the mantis mentioned a few posts ago, the snails were very easy to shoot. Moving slowly and ellegantly, they allowed me to take some close shots and focus with my inverted lens (No autofocus here. And you barely use the focus ring, too. It’s all about the distance!). Snails are also very friendly to eachother and they tend to climb on eachother, which results in photos like the one below;

DSC_6491.jpg

1/60s, ISO 1250, Manual Mode

Problem was, there were 11 of them. So while I focused on one, the rest had their chance to run allover the place. (They’re much faster than you think).

For some of the shots, I put some of them inside a glass vase and let them climb on it, and the results are stunning!

DSC_6653

1/80s, ISO 1600, Manual Mode

DSC_6639

1/100s, ISO 1250, Manual Mode

This last photo is the only one that was taken with a different lens, the Sigma 70-300mm APO Macro lens. ISO is still high due to lack of light.

DSC_6669

 Sigma 70-300mm APO Macro, f/5.6, 1/160s, ISO 1000, Manual Mode, 300mm

High quality images (and more photos from this session) can be found on my flickr account.

Leave a Reply

